Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

Civilization by Louise Glück

Day 14 of 30. Poems Read from Scotland
3

Huge hello to the little influx of subscribers from across the pond that landed on my Substack today! You are very welcome and I hope you like some of the poems that I’m rolling out each day as I work through 30 Poems Read from Scotland. Louise Glück is the first American poet I’ve read, but I’ll make sure that she’s not the last. Now, I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I hadn’t heard of her when this book landed on my doorstep as a gift from my brother-in-law who lives in Colorado. Buuuut, a quick flick through and a read of the blurb showed me that I soon would and most definitely should have! This book is one that will stay with me for life and I find that it’s dip-able in a way that only the best collections are. I never come out disappointed and even familiar poems take on a different weight depending on my mood when I read them. This poem - Civilization talks to the big question of what it is that makes us who we are, both individually and as a species and I’m absolutely here for that. Please dig into more of Louise’s work and holler in my general direction if there are any specific poets that you think I should explore…

Daunder is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

3 Comments
Daunder
Poems Read from Scotland
I read poetry to help make sense of the chaos that swirls, and for 30 days from 21 March 2024 I'll be sharing one poem per day right here on daunder.substack.com. These poems will be favourites from writers old and new, known, and yet to be discovered and the posts will be short and in a mish-mash of styles that will muster mindfulness, cajole creativity and hopefully tickle your fancy. Please do lend an ear, comment, share and get involved.