Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
6

Docker by Seamus Heaney

Day 29 of 30. Poems Read from Scotland
6

There are actual owls a’hooting as I speak this poem through the gloaming on today’s video! It’s easy to take such chuntering for granted when living rurally, but I enjoy being reminded that us human-types are the blip in our little chunk of Scottish countryside…

So, I have actually read Docker on Substack before in an early audio post and I have re-visited it because it floors me every time and alongside the Glasgow Sonnet I by Edwin Morgan it serves to highlight how poems can paint a picture that is at once familiar and entirely of its own time. The power and precision with which Heaney writes allows him to say more in 14 lines than some novels manage in 300 pages. I was chatting to a friend recently about how less can equate to so much more when trying to convey feelings and emotion, and in Docker we see an epic tale chock-full of historical, often violent, social commentary play out in the gaps the poet allows to grow. We all know of men like this and every family has at least one lurking in living memory waiting to prod and prejudice as we hunker down in our modern malaise. Seamus Heaney has managed to turn memory into myth and in doing so he makes a makar of us all.

Grab a copy and find out more here.

Daunder is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

6 Comments
Daunder
Poems Read from Scotland
I read poetry to help make sense of the chaos that swirls, and for 30 days from 21 March 2024 I'll be sharing one poem per day right here on daunder.substack.com. These poems will be favourites from writers old and new, known, and yet to be discovered and the posts will be short and in a mish-mash of styles that will muster mindfulness, cajole creativity and hopefully tickle your fancy. Please do lend an ear, comment, share and get involved.