Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

On Leave Until by Anthony Anaxagorou

Day 19 of 30. Poems Read from Scotland
3

Anthony Anaxagrou is a politically engaged, razor sharp, poetic polymath whose poems demand time to be read and understood. They don’t carry meaning in the way that some poems do in a join the dots fashion that rams the key points home, but they ask that you use abstract thought and feel - really feel - what the poem was written to say. Anthony is a joy to hear read and is an exceptionally bang-on, politically astute man of words who should be listened to. He shared the quote below on his social media today and it helped me make sense of how he writes, and I dare say it will sit with me as I work to improve my own craft too.

Grab a copy of Heritage Aesthetics here.

3 Comments
Daunder
Poems Read from Scotland
I read poetry to help make sense of the chaos that swirls, and for 30 days from 21 March 2024 I'll be sharing one poem per day right here on daunder.substack.com. These poems will be favourites from writers old and new, known, and yet to be discovered and the posts will be short and in a mish-mash of styles that will muster mindfulness, cajole creativity and hopefully tickle your fancy. Please do lend an ear, comment, share and get involved.