Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
5

Racists Ramble Too by Scott Cassidy

Day 27 of 30. Poems Read from Scotland
5

Ok, so it has been a hectic end to the week in my wee corner of Scotland and I wasn’t able to pinch the time to record today’s poem. That said, I have a few classics lined up to finish the series so the last few days will be good. I promise!

In the meantime, here is a poem of mine that was written in solidarity with a great pal who was subject to some vile racism whilst out walking in the English countryside with her husband and friends. She was walking to catch them up when a group of men walked past the rest of her party nodding hello only to unleash abuse and spit when they walked past her. Sadly this was not an isolated incident and she is front and centre of my thoughts as I watch story after story on the news showing the powers-that-be to be rooted in racism as they make decisions on our behalf that do not reflect the will of the many. Jyoti, this was written for you and is shared for anyone and everyone who has experienced similar or who stands together to say enough is enough. Much love x

(apologies for the snowy scenes…..I’ll summon spring vibes for tomorrow.)

5 Comments
Daunder
Poems Read from Scotland
I read poetry to help make sense of the chaos that swirls, and for 30 days from 21 March 2024 I'll be sharing one poem per day right here on daunder.substack.com. These poems will be favourites from writers old and new, known, and yet to be discovered and the posts will be short and in a mish-mash of styles that will muster mindfulness, cajole creativity and hopefully tickle your fancy. Please do lend an ear, comment, share and get involved.