Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
12

Walking with Nina by Scott Cassidy

Day 18 of 30. Poems Read from Scotland
12

So, sticking with poems rooted in nature and exploring ‘place’ I thought I’d read one of my own poems today. This one means a lot to me (for obvious reasons) and was written quickly a few years ago after an icy winter’s walk through the mean streets of Fala Dam, the tiny hamlet of 12 houses we call home just outside of Scotland’s capital city of Edinburgh. Nina has definitely hit the age where it is a tad horrific to have your Dad write poems about you, but she gave me the nod to share this today and I hope I’ve managed to capture some of the simple beauty that can be conjured by just being outside and noticing with those you love.

Share

Daunder is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

12 Comments
Daunder
Poems Read from Scotland
I read poetry to help make sense of the chaos that swirls, and for 30 days from 21 March 2024 I'll be sharing one poem per day right here on daunder.substack.com. These poems will be favourites from writers old and new, known, and yet to be discovered and the posts will be short and in a mish-mash of styles that will muster mindfulness, cajole creativity and hopefully tickle your fancy. Please do lend an ear, comment, share and get involved.